The Gratiaen Trust | Sri Lanka | English | Literature | Literary | Prize | Creative | Writing | Writer | Author | Michael Ondaatje | Booker Prize | Manuscript | Novel | Short Stories | Poetry | Play | Drama | Contemporary

H.A.I. Goonetileke Prize


While translations came within the scope of the Prize at the beginning, in 2003, the Trust offered the H.A.I. Goonetileke Prize exclusively for translations. This allowed the Trust to strengthen its mandate of promoting original creative writing in English while rewarding those who provided English readers access to the rich literatures produced in Sinhala and Tamil. As with the Gratiaen Prize, the H.A.I. Goonetileke Prize is Sri Lankan Rupees 200,000 and awarded every two years. Michael Ondaatje remains the sole benefactor.
H A. I. Goonetileke Prize for Translation

2008 Sedona translated by Edmund Jayasuriya
Author - Eva Ranaweera.

2006 The Hour when the Moon Weeps translated by Kumari Goonesekere
Author - Liyanage Amarakeerthi.

2004 – Nandithaya as The Chameleon translated by Vijita Fernando
Author - Sunethra Rajakarunanayake.

2003 - Not awarded


Panel of Judges



  • Prof. Ashley Halpe (Chair)
  • Dr. Amarakirthi Liyanage
  • Professor M.A.M. Nuhuman
  • Prof. Arjuna Parakrama (Chair)
  • Dr. Sivamohan Sumathy
  • Mr.S.M.L. Marikkar
  • Dr. Carmen Wickramagamage (Chair)
  • Prof. Meegaskumbura
  • Prof. Merlin Peris
  • Dr. Carmen Wickramagamage (Chair)
  • Prof. Ratna Handurukande
  • Dr. M.A.M. Nuhuman
  Copyright © Gratiaen Trust. All Rights Reserved & Site by Shift Solutions.